Henry B. Eyring, Quentin L. Cook replace Elder Faust in LDS Church

Elder Henry B. Eyring of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles was called and sustained as the new 2nd Counselor in the First Presidency of the LDS Church.

Elder Quentin L. Cook of the 1st Quorum of the Seventy was called as an Apostle of the Lord Jesus Christ and was sustained as a member of the Quorum of the 12 Apostles.  Elder Cook was called as a member of the 1st Quorum of the Seventy on  April 5, 1998. He was born in Logan, UT and served an LDS Mission to England.

The calling of Elder Eyring to serve with President Hinckley and President Monson as presiding officers of the Church is fantastic and somewhat surprising to me.  Surprising because he is one of the younger and junior Apostles (I believe, until today, that he was 3rd from the bottom in Seniority).  Seniority has nothing to do with this calling, but for some reason I would have expected one more senior.  Nevertheless, Elder Eyring has long been one of my favorite Apostles to listen to and receive instruction from.  His call was one of direct revelation from God, what a blessing it is to have a Church on the earth with such authority and with the same organization that existed when Christ was on the Earth.

13 Comments

Filed under Baptist, Book of Mormon, Christian, Christianity, Doctrine, LDS, Mormon, Mormonism, Politics, Religion

13 responses to “Henry B. Eyring, Quentin L. Cook replace Elder Faust in LDS Church

  1. CJ

    I like Elder Eyring. I look forward to seeing more of him and listening to his messages. My prayers continue to be with the Faust family. President Faust was always my favorite speaker and I’m going to miss his talks during conference.

  2. M-Town

    I’m not too familiar with Mormonism but I did meet Henry B. Eyring one time and he is a great great man. He should do a great job.

  3. bequirox

    Elder Eyring always tells the best “stories with a moral”. I love him!

  4. Hello,

    I found something interesting, and was wondering if I could get your opinion.

    3 Nephi 28 talks about 3 of the Nephite apostles who will never die, and will be taken to heaven when Jesus returns. Also, D&C Sect. 7 says the Apostle John never died. So, there are 4 apostles who are several hundred years old still out preaching the gospel.

    But then there are 12 apostles of the LDS church currently in office. So there are 16 living apostles, and dozens or hundreds of dead ones.

    In Revelation 21:14, it talks about how New Jerusalem has twelve foundations, with the names of the 12 apostles written on them. Which of the apostles gets their name written there? Does Joseph Smith get the shaft? Does the Bible ever really allow for more than 12 bona fide apostles? Do the Mormon apostles have the signs, wonders and miracles to prove they are apostles (2 Corinthians 12:12)?

    Thanks for your help,
    Bill

  5. Kyle

    billphillips,

    In the new testiment, after the death of Judas, who betrayed Jesus, the 11 Apostles at the time got together and chose a new Apostle, Matthias, to make 12 again. This is recorded in the new testiment, Acts 1: 15-26.
    It is my personal understanding of the scriptures that the 12 called in Jerusalum durring Christs Earthly ministry hold a special possisson as Judges in Isreal.
    The 3 Nephites along with 9 others called by Jesus in the Americas are not refered to in the Book of Mormon as Apostles, but rather Disiples, that perfomed a similar function as teh Apostles in Jerusulum.
    I hope this helps.

    Kyle

  6. Swint

    Kyle, Bill

    Thanks for your comments, and Kyle you are pretty well spot on. The original 12 (- Iscariot, + Matthais) hold a special position of seniority as I understand it.
    Bill, I don’t know if you are LDS or have been endowed in the Temple, but note that Peter, James, and John (who I refer to as the original First Presidency) play a special role that no other “First Presidency” does.

    Note- These comments are mine only and are not necessarily the official teachings of the Church.

    Hope this helps,

    Swint

  7. Pingback: Top Posts « WordPress.com

  8. cellista

    Elder Eyring is one of my favorites also. I’m excited to see him in this new calling, even though I’ll miss hearing President Faust.

  9. tjthompson

    Though Elder Eyring expressed feelings of inadequacy about his new calling, I am confident that he will be nothing but benevolent and humble in his dealings. I am not familiar with Elder Cook, but I look forward to getting to know him better as we hear and read his words more often.

  10. I’m not very familiar with the replacement… interesting post 😛

  11. cheaperthencheap

    I love that it was Elder Eyring, I think that Pres. Hinckley was thinking to days ahead and the work load that is demanded of the position…I think he was a wonderful wise choice..

    Yesterday I sat in tears as I watched, especially as Elder Wirthlin spoke.

  12. parnellhistory

    I have had the joy of meeting elder Eyring. I am pleased to see him called into the Presidency of the church I know he will do a great work for the Lord

Leave a Reply

